4.5 Stars #Review ~ Goldilocks by Laura Lam

Posted August 22, 2020 by Michelle in Review / 5 Comments

4.5 Stars #Review ~ Goldilocks by Laura LamGoldilocks by Laura Lam
on April 30, 2020
Genres: Dystopian, Sci-Fi, Science & Technology
Pages: 353
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

The Earth is in environmental collapse. The future of humanity hangs in the balance. But a team of women are preparing to save it. Even if they’ll need to steal a spaceship to do it.
Despite increasing restrictions on the freedoms of women on Earth, Valerie Black is spearheading the first all-female mission to a planet in the Goldilocks Zone, where conditions are just right for human habitation.
The team is humanity's last hope for survival, and Valerie has gathered the best women for the mission: an ace pilot who is one of the only astronauts ever to have gone to Mars; a brilliant engineer tasked with keeping the ship fully operational; and an experienced doctor to keep the crew alive. And then there's Naomi Lovelace, Valerie's surrogate daughter and the ship's botanist, who has been waiting her whole life for an opportunity to step out of Valerie's shadow and make a difference.
The problem is that they’re not the authorized crew, even if Valerie was the one to fully plan the voyage. When their mission is stolen from them, they steal the ship bound for the new planet.
But when things start going wrong on board, Naomi begins to suspect that someone is concealing a terrible secret -- and realizes time for life on Earth may be running out faster than they feared . . .
Goldilocks is a bold and thought-provoking new thriller for readers of The Martian and The Handmaid's Tale.

I will be honest, I wasn’t sure what to expect and once I started reading I was getting a little overwhelmed with all the science and information that pretty much was going over my head. BUT…and this is a big BUT….I took a moment to take the words in as best I can and soon enough I was totally getting what they were saying and seriously was so invested in these women’s lives that I was hook and then blown away.

The science part is pretty much in the beginning, the world is a mess and a group of woman want to travel to start a new world on a planet that is similar to earth. The build up is amazing and just the slow way that it tells the story, I loved it. I was super invested in Naomi Lovelace and her story. The book is told in her POV but it goes back and forth from past to present. It is scary how much of this world is similar to ours today and how climate change and disease has cause the world to start dying, not to mention the president sucks too. (sorry Trump supporters)

The story has lots of twists and turns. I wasn’t sure where the story was going but even when it is all said and done I wasn’t sure if it would be a happy ending. I want to go into full details about this book and tell you all the things that were amazing but I feel like I would give so much away since I went into it not know that much, I just found the synopsis so interested and I am not a Sci-Fi reader. Complex stories often confuse me but this was amazing! I already grabbed her next book.

Overall I loved this book, I can’t even explain how much I have been thinking about it even after a few weeks. This story had great characters, twists and a world that was similar to our own. I want more people to read this book and enjoy it. I think this is a great read for Adults, Young Adults and Maybe even mature teens. I highly recommend and can’t wait to read more from Laura Lam

Amazing story, this is one of those stories that will stay with you long after. Check out Michelle's Review Click To Tweet

Thanks for stopping by to check out my review.

Have a great day and Happy Reading!

Divider

About Michelle

I am a mom to two pretty amazing kids, three pretty cute fluffy children and a wife to one adorable husband. I am a gamer, reader and a graphic designer with 20 years experience. I recently started my own business "Limabean Designs" to help other bloggers, authors and anyone else create amazing things that they would be proud to show off. I have been reading since forever and started blogging because I love sharing all the awesome books this world has to offer. I am also the co-host for the COYER Challenge, Reading Assignment Challenge, Author Luv, Bloggiesta and the Bookish Resolutions Challenge. I try to create a warm welcoming environment on my blog where authors, readers, and bloggers will have a great time. Let’s chat books, games, blogging, recipes, design, or family over a cup of coffee and a glass of wine!

Tags:

Divider

Want more awesome posts like this? Subscribe to my blog via email!

5 responses to “4.5 Stars #Review ~ Goldilocks by Laura Lam

    • Thanks Kim. It was really an awesome book. Just the idea of space and a dying world. I would love to one day write s review more in detail because this book had so much.

    • That’s what I thought but it was me over thinking because it’s easy to understand. It’s a good book 🙂 maybe one you could grab from the library and try.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then CLICK HERE to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.