4 star #Review ~ The Darkest Day Series 1 & 2 by K.N. Lee

Posted February 7, 2019 by Michelle in Review / 3 Comments

4 star #Review ~ The Darkest Day Series 1 & 2 by K.N. LeeWaking the Dark (The Darkest Day #1) by K.N. Lee
Genres: Fantasy, Fantasy & Magic
Pages: 107
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

In Veruth, there are three different classes of being—royals, rebels, and the pitiful lot I belong to... ...humans.

After centuries at war with the mystical sun elves, the humans lost, and we now serve them as slaves, toiling each day by working menial jobs. I work on The Wall, a massive structure the elves use to keep us imprisoned. They say it is to protect us from the monsters on the other side--from an ancient force called The Dark. I don't believe it. I'll find a way to cross the wall, and sail away from this entire blasted continent.

As I reach the age to enter the Blood Lottery, I know there is a better fate waiting for me.

But, when I almost lose my life in a devastating accident, something awakens inside of me.

A force—an ancient magic I never knew existed.

I may not be who my mother told me I was...

...and, that's just the beginning of my adventure.

With the help of a rogue rebel leader, an elvish royal, and a mysterious wisp from my darkest nightmares, I may save the humans from their oppressors.Or, be used as a weapon against them.

The choice is mine, but as the magic consumes me, I no longer know which side I stand on.

From the New York Times bestselling author of Half-Blood Dragon comes an epic fantasy that critics are calling The Hunger Games meets Game of Thrones.

Reading Order:Waking the DarkTempting the FireBreaking the Oath

I can’t get enough of K.N. Lee’s stories, she is an amazing writer and has a TON of books. I honestly can’t keep up with her but I can’t stop reading all the books she puts out. This series is fantastic and I can’t wait for book #3

Waking the Dark is the first books in K.N. Lee’s Darkest Day series. I loved the characters in this books and developed some serious trust issues between the two stories.

This book is told in multi-POV and it does bounce around a bit. I felt like this book was a build up for the next book. You get to meet the MC and a few of the other characters, you get a sense of the world that you like in. While I felt it lacked a lot of detail I still loved the characters and the world. You meet quite a few characters and some have more of a story than others. I look forward to seeing how these characters develop throughout the series. The big bad in this book is called the Dark, while I don’t understand completely what it is in the first book, you get a better idea in the next. This book wasn’t very long and I would have loved to spend more time in the world. It does end at 91%

I enjoyed this book, even with my issues I still gave this 4 stars because I really do love her stories.

4 star #Review ~ The Darkest Day Series 1 & 2 by K.N. LeeTempting the Fire (The Darkest Day #2) by K.N. Lee
Pages: 99
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars


The tempting of the fire begins, and I'm the key to unlocking a beast that can destroy the world.

My brief life as a thief cast me into a dismal prison. When the handsome sun elf royal sets me free, relief is quickly replaced by dread as I realize he's doomed me to a fate worse than death.

Love brews, secrets are revealed...

...and, as the Dark Trials begin, the only thing keeping me alive is the burning magic threatening to be unleashed.


Join New York Times bestselling author, K.N. Lee on a coming-of-age adventure to discovering the truth of the mysterious magic hiding within the orphan prophecized to change the entire world. Dragons, elves, and captivating magic collide in this dark epic fantasy perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Lord of the Rings.
Reading Order:Waking the DarkTempting the FireBreaking the Oath

This is the book is the one that gave me serious trust issues but I am completely in love with Kem and hope that Ava and him have some love. 😀 I am glad I read both of these books in one sitting because it really allows you to get more details in the story that I thought was lacking in the first. While the world build still isn’t detailed you get a better feel for the characters and you get a little more explanation of what the dark is. I did find Ava to be a little too trusting and not questioning things I was finding that needed to be questioned. I think this is where the trust issues are coming from. I am hoping Ava grows more in the next book. I did like reading about her sister and look forward to more of her in the next book. Not really a cliffhanger but you are left with many questions at the end.

I did enjoy this book also and overall, recommend this series. I am hoping book 3 will be out soon because I can’t wait to see what happens next.

Thanks for stopping by to check out my review.

Have a great day and Happy Reading!

Divider

About Michelle

I am a mom to two pretty amazing kids, three pretty cute fluffy children and a wife to one adorable husband. I am a gamer, reader and a graphic designer with 20 years experience. I recently started my own business "Limabean Designs" to help other bloggers, authors and anyone else create amazing things that they would be proud to show off. I have been reading since forever and started blogging because I love sharing all the awesome books this world has to offer. I am also the co-host for the COYER Challenge, Reading Assignment Challenge, Author Luv, Bloggiesta and the Bookish Resolutions Challenge. I try to create a warm welcoming environment on my blog where authors, readers, and bloggers will have a great time. Let’s chat books, games, blogging, recipes, design, or family over a cup of coffee and a glass of wine!

Tags:

Divider

Want more awesome posts like this? Subscribe to my blog via email!

3 responses to “4 star #Review ~ The Darkest Day Series 1 & 2 by K.N. Lee