Just a Few Good Books I Should Have Reviewed A Long Time Ago

Posted March 26, 2018 by Berls in Just a Few Books I Read, Review / 5 Comments

Just a Few Books I Read logo

This feature is for short reviews, reviews of books in a series where it might feel repetitive, or (as Michelle suggested) books I was too lazy to write a “real” review for. Today’s books I was too lazy to write a “real” review. But they were good, so you have to know about them 🙂

Just a Few Good Books I Should Have Reviewed A Long Time AgoThe Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on June 18th 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Goodreads
four-stars

Perfect for fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist and The Statistical Probability of Love at First SightThe Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak is Stonewall Award–winning author Brian Katcher's hilarious he said/she said romance about two teens discovering themselves on an out-of-this-world accidental first date at a sci-fi convention.

When Ana Watson's brother ditches a high school trip to run wild at Washingcon, type-A Ana knows that she must find him or risk her last shot at freedom from her extra-controlling parents.

In her desperation, she's forced to enlist the last person she'd ever want to spend time with—slacker Zak Duquette—to help find her brother before morning comes.

But over the course of the night, while being chased by hordes of costumed Vikings and zombies, Ana and Zak begin to open up to each other. Soon, what starts as the most insane nerdfighter manhunt transforms into so much more. . . .

This kind of reminded me of Adventures in Babysitting (tell me I’m not the only one who watched that movie growing up?) – not that the plot is at all similar, but the crazy things that happen are equally ridiculous and improbable. Of course, this takes place in a total geek convention, so the hijinks are particularly great for someone like me (a geek). I LMAO reading this and had so much fun routing for Ana and Zak. Just a really fun read that I happily devoured.

4 stars Pretty Great

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Just a Few Good Books I Should Have Reviewed A Long Time AgoF*ck Club: Con by Shiloh Walker
Series: F*ck Club #2
Published by Shiloh Walker, Inc on March 24th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Erotica
Pages: 122
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Rule #2…Respect the ladies.

Conner Steele has nothing but respect for ladies. He absolutely adores them and takes more than a little bit of pride in his job—or rather, his former job.

After a run-in with a cop, former male escort Con, along with his brother Riley and best friend Shame, decided it might just be best to hang up their…hats and retire from the business of being paid to pleasure.

After all, they have a profitable business going with their new pub. No reason to ruin a good thing and Con is more than happy to keep pleasing the ladies—just…no longer as a job. Finding a date or company for the night has never been an issue for him, either. He’s been told more than once that he can charm a tiger out of its stripes. But lately a new hire at the bar is turning the tables on him—she is the one charming him, twisting him up into knots and getting him so worked up, he can barely see straight.

In his rather expert opinion, Shawntelle Callahan is nothing less than a queen.

And she’s a queen on a mission, too. Even as tangled up as he is over her, he can see that. First she tries to coax him out of retirement for one last engagement. When that doesn’t work, she sets out to drive him crazy. After finally admitting that she’s a writer who’s looking to do a story on male escorts, Con realizes it will be best to just stay away from Shawntelle. Sure, she says she’s just looking for some hands-on information but he knows there’s more to it than that. There are secrets in her eyes, barely hidden lies and doubt.

Although I liked the first book a lot more than this one, I really enjoyed the characters and the way things connected unexpectedly. I think the plot just wasn’t AS interesting as in the first book. I’m really excited to get Shame’s story… which isn’t showing up at all on Goodreads! I’ll be very disappointed if the series stops here.

3.5 stars pretty good

Just a Few Good Books I Should Have Reviewed A Long Time AgoHarry Potter and the Cursed Child, Parts 1 & 2 by John Tiffany, J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne
Published by Arthur A. Levine Books on July 31st 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Middle Grade, Young Adult
Pages: 309
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
four-stars

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

It took me a bit to get used to the screenplay format, but once I did I really enjoyed being back in the Wizarding world! Would really like to see the play.

As much as I enjoyed it, I have to say that it’s pretty obvious that JK Rowling did not write it (not that they ever said she did, but man I wish it wasn’t so obvious!). I also was really disappointed in how Ron and Hermoine turn out — as a couple and as parents. I think you dream of this perfection for characters you love, so being faced with a reality that’s well… more realistic… kinda sucks.

Still was great to be back and I enjoyed the playing with time — I’ve always enjoyed histories changing from one small act in the past.

4 stars Pretty Great

Berls is sharing Just a Few Good Books she Should Have Reviewed A Long Time Ago. Have you read them? Click To Tweet

About Berls

Michelle adopted me as part of her blog when I decided to close down my blog, Fantasy is More Fun. The blog was dying, but my love of reading and the blogosphere was still strong as ever - so I found my new home here at Because Reading!

I'm not just a book lover, but a one time author (that hopes to be more in the future), wife, and step-mom to the craziest, sweetest 17 year old on the planet. I also have the privilege of teaching Kindergarten. I love what I do and you can expect it to bleed into my posts. Teaching is a big a part of me as my family and reading. So grab a glass of wine and chat books, blogging, and family with me!

Tags:

Divider

Want more awesome posts like this? Subscribe to my blog via email!

5 responses to “Just a Few Good Books I Should Have Reviewed A Long Time Ago

  1. Adventures in Babysitting was the BOMB! I loved that movie growing up, and still have fond memories. The Improbably Theory sounds AWESOME.

  2. Jen

    Even though I really didn’t like HP Cursed Child, I too enjoyed getting back into the HP universe and would like to see the stage production. Thanks!

  3. The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak is one I keep eyeing but haven’t seen reviews for. Glad you enjoyed it. Also I LOVED Adventures in Babysitting!!