#Review ~ The Fog Diver (The Fog Diver #1) by Joel Ross #MyTBRList

Posted May 28, 2016 by Michelle in Review / 10 Comments

#Review ~ The Fog Diver (The Fog Diver #1) by Joel Ross #MyTBRListThe Fog Diver by Joel Ross
Published by HarperCollins on May 26th 2015
Genres: Friendship, Humor, Middle Grade, Orphans & Foster Homes, Post-Apocalyptic, steampunk
Pages: 352
Format: eBook
Source: Edelweiss
Goodreads
four-stars

Joel Ross debuts a thrilling adventure series in which living in the sky is the new reality and a few determined slum kids just might become heroes. This Texas Bluebonnet selection—a fantasy filled with daring and hope and a wonderfully imaginative world—is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Brandon Mull.

Once the Fog started rising, the earth was covered with a deadly white mist until nothing remained but the mountaintops. Now humanity clings to its highest peaks, called the Rooftop, where the wealthy Five Families rule over the lower slopes and floating junkyards.

Thirteen-year-old Chess and his friends Hazel, Bea, and Swedish sail their rickety air raft over the deadly Fog, scavenging the ruins for anything they can sell to survive. But now survival isn't enough. They must risk everything to get to the miraculous city of Port Oro, the only place where their beloved Mrs. E can be cured of fogsickness. Yet the ruthless Lord Kodoc is hot on their trail, for Chess has a precious secret, one that Kodoc is desperate to use against him. Now Chess will face any danger to protect his friends, even if it means confronting what he fears the most.

First Impression:

  • I really enjoyed the cover of this book, love covers with the steampunk look.
  • MG & Steampunk? Yes Please!
  • Enjoyed the Writing flow right from the start, knew they were going to be characters I liked.

The Story & Characters:

  • The story takes place in an apocalyptic future. I want to say very close to our time maybe a little further ahead. Loved all the references they would make about the “past”. They even messed up the meaning of some things which made it really funny.
  • The Story is told in one POV Chess, I actually enjoyed all the kids in this book. I wanted more character development, but the world build was pretty good, I actually found it very interesting how the world was destroyed.
  • The book has a LOT of information in the beginning and it seemed a little slow however the end makes up for it with it’s fast paced action. I am hoping the next books will have a lot more action in it since a lot of what was in this books was build and information.
  • I really liked everything about this book and can’t wait to continue the adventure in the next book.

Final Thoughts:

  • Overall I think this is a great book with a really great story. I loved the build of the world and the background of how the world is in ruins.
  • I would recommend to MG and Adults. This has a lot of fun references and some parts make me laugh. I adored the kids and think this is the start of a great series.

Link Up:


Divider

Thanks for stopping by to check out my review.

Have a great day and Happy Reading!

Divider

About Michelle

I am a mom to two pretty amazing kids, three pretty cute fluffy children and a wife to one adorable husband. I am a gamer, reader and a graphic designer with 20 years experience. I recently started my own business "Limabean Designs" to help other bloggers, authors and anyone else create amazing things that they would be proud to show off. I have been reading since forever and started blogging because I love sharing all the awesome books this world has to offer. I am also the co-host for the COYER Challenge, Reading Assignment Challenge, Author Luv, Bloggiesta and the Bookish Resolutions Challenge. I try to create a warm welcoming environment on my blog where authors, readers, and bloggers will have a great time. Let’s chat books, games, blogging, recipes, design, or family over a cup of coffee and a glass of wine!

Tags:

Divider

Want more awesome posts like this? Subscribe to my blog via email!

10 responses to “#Review ~ The Fog Diver (The Fog Diver #1) by Joel Ross #MyTBRList

  1. I’m happy you enjoyed this, Michelle. I’m glad the pace picked up after the initial info dump and that the characters seem to be well done. I’ve not read much steam punk at all but this one is appealing. 🙂

  2. That cover is definitely one that would get my attention and I don’t think I’ve seen a MG steampunk book before, sot hat sounds fun. I am glad the book grabbed you form the start and you knew it would be a good one. I didn’t realize this one takes place at the future, it does sound great how they make some hints to the past. That’s too bad ti was a bit slow at first, but it sounds like it makes up for that after that. Great review!

    Lola recently posted: Sunday Post #180