#MyTBRL ~ December 2020 ~ #Vote

Posted December 5, 2020 by Michelle in My TBR List / 2 Comments

MyTBRListWe sit for hours looking through our TBR lists wondering when we will ever get to that one book we were dying to read when we added it 3 months ago or maybe even a year. As our piles get bigger we realize there is just not enough time in a day to read all the books that we wanted to read. So I had a great idea, pick 3 books from my TBR Pile and have you all pick which one I should read next. This is a monthly MEME and you are more than welcome to join me. Just create a blog post with your three books and link the post below. Need the full rules? No problem, you can find them all right HERE. Don’t forget to stop by the blogs on the linky below to help the other bloggers by voting on their next read!

It has been a heck of a year. Thank you to all that still participate in this meme,
I can’t thank you enough for joining me while we read those book on our TBR List.

 Next year My TBR List will be back with a brand new logo 🙂

Divider

So this month I picked

 

The House in the Cerulean Sea
by T.J. Klune

Goodreads

A magical island. A dangerous task. A burning secret.

Linus Baker leads a quiet, solitary life. At forty, he lives in a tiny house with a devious cat and his old records. As a Case Worker at the Department in Charge Of Magical Youth, he spends his days overseeing the well-being of children in government-sanctioned orphanages.

When Linus is unexpectedly summoned by Extremely Upper Management he’s given a curious and highly classified assignment: travel to Marsyas Island Orphanage, where six dangerous children reside: a gnome, a sprite, a wyvern, an unidentifiable green blob, a were-Pomeranian, and the Antichrist. Linus must set aside his fears and determine whether or not they’re likely to bring about the end of days.

But the children aren’t the only secret the island keeps. Their caretaker is the charming and enigmatic Arthur Parnassus, who will do anything to keep his wards safe. As Arthur and Linus grow closer, long-held secrets are exposed, and Linus must make a choice: destroy a home or watch the world burn.

An enchanting story, masterfully told, The House in the Cerulean Sea is about the profound experience of discovering an unlikely family in an unexpected place—and realizing that family is yours.

 


It Came from the Sky
by Chelsea Sedoti

Goodreads

“A page-turner as engrossing as any classic Twilight Zone starring two spirited brothers who run circles around the Hardy Boys.” – Ben Philippe, Morris Award-winning author of The Field Guide to the North American Teenager

From the author of The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett and As You Wish comes the unforgettable story of the one small town’s biggest hoax and the two brothers who started it all.

This is the absolutely true account of how Lansburg, Pennsylvania was invaded by aliens and the weeks of chaos that followed. There were sightings of UFOs, close encounters, and even abductions. There were believers, Truth Seekers, and, above all, people who looked to the sky and hoped for more.

Only…there were no aliens.

Gideon Hofstadt knows what really happened. When one of his science experiments went wrong, he and his older brother blamed the resulting explosion on extraterrestrial activity. And their lie was not only believed by their town―it was embraced. As the brothers go to increasingly greater lengths to keep up the ruse and avoid getting caught, the hoax flourishes. But Gideon’s obsession with their tale threatened his whole world. Can he find a way to banish the aliens before Lansburg, and his life, are changed forever?

Told in a report format and comprised of interviews, blog posts, text conversations, found documents, and so much more, It Came from the Sky is a hysterical and resonant novel about what it means to be human in the face of the unknown.


 

The Storm Keeper’s Island
(Storm Keeper #1)
by Catherine Doyle

Goodreads

Catherine Doyle’s stunning middle-grade debut, an evocative tale of ancient magic, bravery, and family bonds.

“Fans of Harry Potter or Percy Jackson can add Fionn Boyle as a generous and brave hero from the Emerald Isle.” – School Library Connection

When Fionn Boyle sets foot on Arranmore Island, it begins to stir beneath his feet.

Once in a generation, the island chooses a new Storm Keeper – someone to wield its power and keep its magic safe from enemies. The time has come for Fionn’s grandfather, a secretive and eccentric old man, to step down. Soon, a new Keeper will rise.

Fionn’s ancestral home has been waiting for him. But, deep underground, someone else has been waiting, too. As the battle rages over who will become the island’s next champion, a more sinister magic is waking up, intent on rekindling an ancient war.

Catherine Doyle’s gorgeously written and evocative tale is perfect for fans of Orphan Island, Beyond the Bright Sea, and A Snicker of Magic.

Last #MyTBRList of the year! Help Michelle find her December read! Click To Tweet

 Let’s Vote….

Pick one of the three books in the survey to help me find what book I will read this month

Divider

Thank you so much for stopping by to vote 🙂

Check back next week to see which one I will be reading!

Have a great day and Happy Reading!


About Michelle

I am a mom to two pretty amazing kids, four pretty cute fluffy children and a wife to one adorable husband. I am a gamer, reader and a graphic designer with 20 years experience. I recently started my own business "Limabean Designs" to help other bloggers, authors and anyone else create amazing things that they would be proud to show off. I have been reading since forever and started blogging because I love sharing all the awesome books this world has to offer. I am also the co-host for the COYER Challenge, Reading Assignment Challenge and the Bookish Resolutions Challenge. I try to create a warm welcoming environment on my blog where authors, readers, and bloggers will have a great time. Let’s chat books, games, blogging, recipes, design, or family over a cup of coffee and a glass of wine!

Tags:

Divider

Want more awesome posts like this? Subscribe to my blog via email!

2 responses to “#MyTBRL ~ December 2020 ~ #Vote

  1. I voted for The Storm Keeper’s Island, but they all sound good. I don’t think you can go wrong with any of them, Michelle. Thank you for hosting the poll again this year. It’s always fun to do and I love getting my blog visitors involved. Sometimes I try to guess which way they’ll go. 🙂 I look forward to taking part again next year.