Just a Few Misters #audioreview

Posted May 7, 2018 by Berls in Just a Few Books I Read, Review / 1 Comment

Just a Few Books I Read logo

This feature is for short reviews, reviews of books in a series where it might feel repetitive, or (as Michelle suggested) books I was too lazy to write a “real” review for. Today’s books are all part of J.A. Huss’s Mister series – a favorite series and author all in one 🙂 I previously reviewed Five which is a prequel to the series for My TBR List. Keep in mind, I wrote these quick reviews as I was reading them, so some of them comments relate to when books will be out… which is no longer relevant. I didn’t want to edit that out, since it speaks to my anticipation.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Just a Few Misters #audioreviewMr. Perfect by J.A. Huss
Series: Mister #1
Published by Podium Publishing on December 27, 2016
Genres: Romance, Suspense
Length: 8 hours 45 mins
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
four-stars

Wanting the perfect man doesn’t make me crazy. I just know what I like.

A powerful billionaire in a suit wasn’t even my first choice. McAllister Stonewall was never on my radar, I didn’t even know he existed.

But I do now.

His hands are all over me at work. The heat of his chest pressing against my bare back as he bends me over the desk is the only thing on my mind.

He is my most forbidden desires unleashed. He is my new secret obsession. He is my Mr. Perfect.

Until the moment I realize… There’s no such thing as perfect.

Not at all what I expected from Huss – but I did really enjoy it. I read this months ago though, so I can’t write a very specific review. I know I liked the characters but felt that the mystery of Mr. Perfect was a little blase for a Huss story. However, I was pulled in enough to immediately dig into the next book, which I enjoyed much more.

4 stars Pretty Great

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Just a Few Misters #audioreviewMr. Romantic by J.A. Huss
Series: Mister #2
Published by Podium Publishing on January 10, 2017
Genres: Romance, Suspense
Length: 9 hours 7 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
five-stars

Charm is the key to the world.

Charisma, magnetism, sex appeal—that ‘it’ factor that can’t be described.

Nolan Delany has it is spades.

The infamous Mr. Romantic.

And maybe he is out of my league… But I’m going to give it the old college try anyway. Because I didn’t travel two thousand miles for a job interview at his request just to be put out like trash.

Don’t underestimate me, Mr. Delaney.

I’m really not as innocent as I look.

This one really stepped up the game and delivered what I expect from Huss! There was a constant element of mystery, great chemistry and you can really feel that we’re building toward something.

5 stars Flipping Fantastic

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Just a Few Misters #audioreviewMr. Corporate by J.A. Huss
Narrator: Abby Craden
Series: Mister #3
Published by Podium Publishing on January 31, 2017
Genres: Romance, Suspense
Length: 9 hours 41 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
five-stars

Weston Conrad is the best headhunter in the business. That handsome smile goes a long way towards convincing most people to trust him with their future. I’m not most people. I’m his direct competition. And it doesn’t hurt to be just the kind of woman he’s been looking for. I’m gonna flash you these legs, Weston Conrad. I’m gonna wear low-cut shirts and micro-mini skirts. I’m gonna dazzle you with wit and conversation and kiss those lips like they’re exactly what I’ve been waiting for. So don’t hate me when you figure out my secret. You understand, right? You’re Mr. Corporate and this is just business.

ALL BOOKS IN THIS SERIES CAN BE READ AS A STANDALONE! Mr. Perfect Mr. Romantic (Releases 6-22-16) Mr. Corporate (Releases 8-17-16) Mr. Mysterious (Releases 10-12-16) Mr. Match (Releases 12-7-16)

Okay and we’re up and running! The action and chemistry between Mr. Corporate and the heroine (I want to say Elle, but I read this month’s ago so I could be remembering wrong) was fantastic. I love the second-chance-romance element to it and, even better, the way all this is starting to bring out a fascinating mystery.
5 stars Flipping Fantastic

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Just a Few Misters #audioreviewMr. Mysterious by J.A. Huss
Series: Mister #4
Published by Podium Publishing on April 25, 2017
Genres: Romance, Suspense
Length: 7 hours 57 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
five-stars

Paxton Vance isn’t as cryptic as he thinks. That broody nature and tough-guy exterior aren’t fooling me one bit.

I know everything about him. I listen in on his most personal phone calls. I read his mail before he does. I even know what his mother got him for Christmas last year.

You’re the man of my dreams, Paxton Vance. You just don’t know it yet.

But don’t worry, I’ll remind you. I’m here to give you everything you need, before you know you need it.

So don’t get defensive because I take a challenge seriously. You have to open up to someone, and that someone is me.

Besides, you can’t stay Mr. Mysterious forever. Why play the game if you never want to win?

Yeah – I’m so sad that the next book isn’t available in audio yet. I’m loving the story and so much was revealed in Mr. Mysterious’s story. I almost went to pick up the book in print, but I’ve been enjoying the narration so much, I think I’ll wait. Julie says it’s coming in July most likely so I can wait 😉
5 stars Flipping Fantastic

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Just a Few Misters #audioreviewMr. Match by J.A. Huss
Series: Mister #5
Published by Podium Publishing on July 18, 2017
Genres: Romance, Suspense
Length: 8 hours 59 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
five-stars

Oliver Shrike thinks ahead. He likes to make lists and tick off boxes. He plans, he plots, and he’s got everything under control.Until one day he sees my videos on his dating site. The private erotic videos I make just for him.When I’m looking at the camera I can practically see his face. Hear the internal arguments. Feel his desire.Because I’m that kind of woman.You should delete my videos, Oliver Shrike. It’s your job to keep that dating site on the up and up.But you don’t, do you?You watch them. You get off to them. You crave them.Every week I make a new one with you in mind. I’ve got you addicted to my body, my moans, my secrets.I’ve hooked you now, Mr. Match. You’ve been in control for way too long and this is where it ends.

Mr. Match is the last book in the Mister Series. NOT a standalone book.Mr. PerfectMr. RomanticMr. CorporateMr. MysteriousMr. Match

I think Mr. Match MIGHT be my favorite of the Misters. I love his artist’s soul – the poetry and art we’re pretty great. And made for some very unique sex scenes! I was a bit frustrated with myself reading this because I forgot a decent amount of the plot that happened in the previous 4 books, but thankfully Julie did a good job of gradually bringing it back to me. I love the twists and revelations in this book for sure. Katia was a great leading lady and I really felt for her and all she’d been through, especially with trying to care for her sister.

I got a little lost understanding exactly what was going on with the deep web, like I understood the concept but the WHY missed me. I think if I understood the deep web (dark web?) better it would have made more sense to me.

I’m very curious to know what Mr. and Mrs. is about since I felt like this book’s ending really wrapped things up extremely well. Coming to audio in January I believe 🙂 Because I’m loving the audio for this series and definitely will continue that way!
5 stars Flipping Fantastic

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Just a Few Misters #audioreviewMr. & Mrs. by J.A. Huss
Narrator: Teddy Hamilton
Series: Mister #6
Published by Oh My Audiobooks on February 13, 2018
Genres: Romance
Length: 6 hours 6 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
five-stars

Mr. Perfect, Mr. Romantic, Mr. Corporate, Mr. Mysterious, and Mr. Match found what they were looking for and now it’s time to seal the deal. Five Aston hasn’t quite found his happily ever after yet… not quite. But he will. And he’s about to host the party of the century for all his family and friends.

If you loved Happily Ever After, you can’t miss this one either. It’s the delicious cherry on top of the most perfect dessert and all your favorite characters will be back for one… final… swoon-worthy story.

OMG this was so fun! I’ve never read a JA Huss that was so LIGHT before and it was great. It made me realize I really want to move reading Happily Ever After (Rook and Ronin) up on my list, because I imagine it’s the same kind of story. I laughed so hard reading this, it was exactly what I needed on my way to work each day. The pigs were the best – at one point in Mr. Romantic’s part where he was helping the girls catch their baby pig I was laughing so hard tears were streaming down my face. Seriously. So. Much. Fun.

And while Romantic’s story line definitely was the most fun, it was not the only one. Everyone was fun. They had obstacles, but they weren’t anything over the top. They were basic, everyone could overcome this obstacles. Which was an interesting change for a Huss book. It was so nice to see everyone together, really truly getting their HEA. And I love that there is potential for more books through Ethan and Five’s daughter (I forget which one…).

Oh and the wedding! As I understood what happened with the dresses, I found myself tearing up a bit too, not in laughter but just how wonderfully sweet it was. Especially considering the character they had done it for. Vague enough that it’s not spoiled, but you’re curious 😉 And I really enjoyed Mr. Perfect’s story line, since watching everyone around you have kids while you just can’t seem to have any is something I can relate to so well. I could sympathize with Elle easily and I also loved that while everyone was trying to tiptoe around her and baby stuff she showed that while you might be sad, you can also share in other’s joy and still love watching their kids.

Overall it was a great read and a fantastic conclusion to the series (but I wouldn’t mind a spin off 😉 just sayin’)!

Side note on the audio – it was cool having ALL the Mister’s narrate and – for the most part – I really loved it. I kind of HATED Cindi’s voice though. I don’t remember what it was in their book, but she sounded like a raspy old woman to me or something. It took me a while to stop cringing every time she talked. But I got over it and just loved the story.
5 stars Flipping Fantastic

Berls is sharing Just a Few Misters from J.A. Huss. Have you read them? Click To Tweet

About Berls

Michelle adopted me as part of her blog when I decided to close down my blog, Fantasy is More Fun. The blog was dying, but my love of reading and the blogosphere was still strong as ever - so I found my new home here at Because Reading!

I'm not just a book lover, but a one time author (that hopes to be more in the future), wife, and step-mom to the craziest, sweetest 17 year old on the planet. I also have the privilege of teaching Kindergarten. I love what I do and you can expect it to bleed into my posts. Teaching is a big a part of me as my family and reading. So grab a glass of wine and chat books, blogging, and family with me!

Tags:

Divider

Want more awesome posts like this? Subscribe to my blog via email!

One response to “Just a Few Misters #audioreview

  1. Yay!! I’m thrilled you enjoyed the Misters! I loved them too although I read them. But now? We *have* to read Five!! Have you read Five yet? If not, maybe we should buddy read it? Well, you could listen if you want…I suppose I could to. 😉 Anyway I loved this series too and Mr. & Mrs. was just a lot of fun. You’ll enjoy Happily Ever After too. 😉
    Happy Thursday!! {{{big hugs}}}

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

CommentLuv badge