Just a Few Twenty-Sided Sorceress Books I Read #reviews

Posted June 16, 2018 by Berls in Just a Few Books I Read, Review / 3 Comments

This feature is for short reviews, reviews of books in a series where it might feel repetitive, or (as Michelle suggested) books I was too lazy to write a “real” review for. Today’s books all come from the Twenty-Sided Sorceress Series. I haven’t finished it yet, but I did read through these two pretty quickly, after the first book was picked for book club. I plan to pick the series up again, eventually, as it was quite good so far.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Just a Few Twenty-Sided Sorceress Books I Read #reviewsJustice Calling by Annie Bellet
on July 23, 2014
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 148
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
four-stars

Gamer. Nerd. Sorceress.

Jade Crow lives a quiet life running her comic book and game store in Wylde, Idaho. After twenty-five years fleeing from a powerful sorcerer who wants to eat her heart and take her powers, quiet suits her just fine. Surrounded by friends who are even less human than she is, Jade figures she’s finally safe.

As long as she doesn’t use her magic.

When dark powers threaten her friends’ lives, a sexy shape-shifter enforcer shows up. He’s the shifter world’s judge, jury, and executioner rolled into one, and he thinks Jade is to blame. To clear her name, save her friends, and stop the villain, she’ll have to use her wits… and her sorceress powers.

Except Jade knows that as soon as she does, a far deadlier nemesis awaits.

Justice Calling is the first book in The Twenty-Sided Sorceress urban fantasy series. Readers who enjoyed The Dresden Files or The Iron Druid Chronicles will likely enjoy this series.

I enjoyed this from the get-go. The characters were fun – love the gamer nerd angle! – and the paranormal elements are quite different from what I’m used to – and I LOVE finding new and unique fantasy! It definitely spent some time setting up, but that’s to be expected in an Urban Fantasy, so it didn’t bother me much. Some interesting relationships – friendship and otherwise – getting started in this book and I look forward to reading more of them too.
4 stars Pretty Great

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Just a Few Twenty-Sided Sorceress Books I Read #reviewsMurder of Crows by Annie Bellet
on August 22, 2014
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 163
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
four-stars

They say you can never go home again. If only that were true…

Game store owner and nerd sorceress extraordinaire Jade Crow knows death stalks her in the form of her murderous ex-lover, Samir, a sorcerer who wants to eat her heart and take her power. With the help of her friends, and sexy tiger-shifter Alek, Jade trains for the inevitable confrontation.

Until her estranged father shows up begging for help. Someone or something is murdering the crow shifters of Three Feathers ranch and her father believes sorcery is the only way to stop the killings.

Faced with an unknown foe, a family that exiled her decades before, a deepening relationship with Alek, and Samir’s ever-present threat, Jade will need all the power she’s gained and then some to stop the Murder of Crows.

Murder of Crows is the second book in The Twenty-Sided Sorceress urban fantasy series.

After finishing Justice Calling I pretty much leapt into Murder of Crows and wasn’t disappointed. The character development continues to be strong and the paranormal elements continue to be unique and interesting. I’m enjoying the short plots within each book and I’m very pulled in by the bigger plot. The action ramped up in this one (and it wasn’t light in the first book!). I can’t for the life of me figure out why I didn’t immediately read book 3… maybe I just didn’t have the $ at the time! I do plan to read more.

4 stars Pretty Great

Berls is sharing Just a Few Twenty-Sided Sorceress Books she read. Have you read them? Click To Tweet

About Berls

Michelle adopted me as part of her blog when I decided to close down my blog, Fantasy is More Fun. The blog was dying, but my love of reading and the blogosphere was still strong as ever - so I found my new home here at Because Reading!

I'm not just a book lover, but a one time author (that hopes to be more in the future), wife, and step-mom to the craziest, sweetest 17 year old on the planet. I also have the privilege of teaching Kindergarten. I love what I do and you can expect it to bleed into my posts. Teaching is a big a part of me as my family and reading. So grab a glass of wine and chat books, blogging, and family with me!

Tags:

Divider

Want more awesome posts like this? Subscribe to my blog via email!

3 responses to “Just a Few Twenty-Sided Sorceress Books I Read #reviews

  1. I have the first one in my freebies and keep thinking I will read it. I’ve seen many reviews on it, too! Anne – Books of My Heart