Just a Few Garnet Lacey Books I Read #audio #review

Posted May 26, 2021 by Berls in Just a Few Books I Read, Review / 3 Comments

Just a Few Books I Read logo

This feature is for short reviews, reviews of books in a series where it might feel repetitive, or (as Michelle suggested) books I was too lazy to write a “real” review for. Today’s books are the Garnet Lacey Series. I wish I hadn’t waited so long to read these books! I read all 5 books between July 5, 2018 and September 2, 2018.

These are my original Goodreads reviews, finally sharing them on the blog!

Just a Few Garnet Lacey Books I Read #audio #reviewTall, Dark & Dead by Tate Hallaway
Narrator: Amanda Ronconi
Series: Garnet Lacey #1
Published by Audible Studios on May 2, 2006
Genres: Cozy Mystery, Fantasy, Romance
Length: 9 hours 57 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Borrowed
Goodreads
three-half-stars

The first Garnet Lacey novel in the delightful paranormal series by the author of The Vampire Princess of St. Paul novels!
The line between magic and sanity is very thin. That’s part of why I, Garnet Lacey, quit cold turkey. Never touch the stuff. No exceptions.

But magic is so addictive…and my inner Goddess Lilith is hard to resist. Besides, restraint isn’t easy when you manage Wisconsin’s premiere occult bookstore, and get customers like Sebastian Von Traum—piercing brown eyes, a sexy accent, and a killer body in denim and black leather. The only thing missing is an aura. Which means he’s dead…
And that means trouble. I guess I’m a sucker for it. The Vatican witch hunters are on to us. My long-lost vampire ex has crawled out of the woodwork looking for action. And Sebastian’s frustrated ex is stirring in her grave.
So what’s a girl to do if she’s hot for a dead man walking? Run like hell—and take full advantage of the nights…

So I bought books 2 and 3 of this series in an audible 2 for 1 sale about 4 years ago I think, because the narrator was/is Amanda Ronconi and I love her. But I didn’t have book one…. So years later my stepson’s mom has become an audio addict (thanks to yours truly) and she now owns tons of books I’ve been meaning to get to and what do ya know, she let’s me borrow this book, book 1 of the series I planned on reading 4 years ago. Lol!

So obviously the narration was great. And the book was pretty good too. It has the signature light, funny quality most the books Ronconi seems to narrate have. And the paranormal elements were pretty standard. I love the small town feel and that the main character, Garnet Lacey, manages an occult shop. Very Buffy-esque 😊 in fact, I had a brief Buffy flash, when, very early in the story a vampire sharing remarkable resemblance to Spike comes into the magic shop. But that was pretty much it.

There is a love triangle that so far, is more annoying than anything. So we’ll see how that plays out. Overall, a fun read and I’m eager to listen to more.

3.5 stars pretty good

Just a Few Garnet Lacey Books I Read #audio #reviewDead Sexy by Tate Hallaway
Narrator: Amanda Ronconi
Series: Garnet Lacey #2
Published by Audible Studios on May 14, 2013
Genres: Cozy Mystery, Fantasy, Romance
Length: 8 hours 49 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
four-stars

Tall, Dark & Dead introduced Garnet Lacey, a bookstore manager/witch who accidentally unleashed the dark goddess Lilith on Vatican assassins. Now she has other things to worry about-like pesky frat boy zombies, a gorgeous FBI agent hot on her trail, love spells gone wrong, and keeping her vampire boyfriend a safe distance from her vampire ex-boyfriend. There's just no rest for this Wiccan...
©2007 Lyda Morehouse (P)2013 Audible, Inc.

This was so fun! I still can’t believe how long it took me to get into this series (despite owning some of the books). My main concern at the end of the first book was a love triangle that didn’t seem to have a positive outcome available. Well, Dead Sexy ended the triangle and I’m glad to see it go. It was as satisfying a way to end it as possible for this book, though it definitely wasn’t the best case scenario where all people find love and happiness.

This one had some fun humor with zombies, a love spell gone awry, and a voodoo priestess… Not to mention an FBI agent on Garnet’s trail and a car chase.

I look forward to reading more and am continuing to enjoy the narration. A good series for audio.

4 stars Pretty Great

Just a Few Garnet Lacey Books I Read #audio #reviewRomancing the Dead by Tate Hallaway
Narrator: Amanda Ronconi
Series: Garnet Lacey #3
Published by Audible Studios on May 28, 2013
Genres: Cozy Mystery, Fantasy, Romance
Length: 8 hours 22 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
four-stars

A book with bite and “a gem of a heroine”- third in the series from the author of Dead Sexy.It’s been one heck of a week for Garnet Lacey. The Vatican witch hunters finally think she’s dead, the FBI has closed their file on her, she’s co-founding a new coven - and the gorgeous vampire she loves has just asked her to marry him. How lucky can one girl get? Then, her fiance goes missing and Garnet’s worried sick. Has he been kidnapped? Or could he have run off with that blonde from the coven? Now Garnet will have to seek the help of her future stepson - the same brat who turned her over to the witch hunters for a brand-new Jaguar. But there’s more bad news: the Goddess Lilith, who camps out in her body, has been making embarrassing appearances. And on top of that, some killer’s on her tail...

This was super fun – it was nice not having having the love triangle in the mix to bring down the mood, for one. And it was really cool getting to know Sebastián’s son Matvoch (sp?) so much better. I really like him as a character and hope we get to see a lot more of him and his unique abilities. It’s exciting to see Garnet really embracing her magic again and dealing with her inner goddess (LITERALLY, Lilith is piggybacking inside her). And some nice developments in Garnet and Sebastián’s relationship too. Great narration, of course, because it’s Amanda Ronconi. On to the next!

4 stars Pretty Great

Just a Few Garnet Lacey Books I Read #audio #reviewDead If I Do by Tate Hallaway
Narrator: Amanda Ronconi
Series: Garnet Lacey #4
Published by Audible Studios on June 11, 2013
Genres: Cozy Mystery, Fantasy, Romance
Length: 7 hours 52 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Borrowed
Goodreads
four-stars

The spunky heroine of Romancing the Dead returns in this utterly bewitching series. Witch Garnet Lacey is ready to walk down the aisle with the super sexy vampire Sebastian. Besides the fact that he has no pulse, things couldn't be more perfect. Until plans for the wedding start falling apart, and Sebastian's zombie-slash-vampire-slash witch ex-lover decides that both of them should be six feet under. It's just a matter of time before Garnet-who's already sharing her body with a short-tempered goddess-morphs into Bridezilla.

Another fun one! This was the Meet The Parents episode of Garnet’s story, complete with beginning with Sebastián meeting her parents and his once dead, now vampire / zombie (Vambie?) coming into the restaurant, making a huge scene, and cursing Garnet.

From that great start – for the book, not Garnet and Sébastien – Everything that could go wrong leading up to a wedding, especially a supernatural one, goes wrong. And it was so fun to watch Garnet try to handle it! I laughed, got pretty angry, and laughed some more. Loved meeting Garnet’s parents – they are a hoot! One development disappointed me at first, but it worked out fairly well and I think it will be a great development long term. Looking forward to reading the next one – I will continue to listen since it’s the amazing Amanda Ronconi.

4 stars Pretty Great

Just a Few Garnet Lacey Books I Read #audio #reviewHoneymoon of the Dead by Tate Hallaway
Narrator: Amanda Ronconi
Series: Garnet Lacey #5
Published by Audible Studios on June 25, 2013
Genres: Cozy Mystery, Fantasy, Romance
Length: 7 hours 39 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Borrowed
Goodreads
four-half-stars

The latest in the bewitching series from the author of Dead if I Do
In wintry Wisconsin, occult bookseller - and witch - Garnet Lacey isn't immune to the cold. But even though her new vampire husband doesn't actually have a pulse, love will keep them warm - if the honeymoon doesn't drive them apart. Thanks to a vengeful frost demon, instead of a gothic honeymoon in Transylvania, Garnet and Sebastian are stuck in exotic Minneapolis, Minnesota. And with gods and goddesses running amok all over town, Garnet can't seem to find much quality time for her new hubby....

Oops, I did it again! I finished a book, moved on to the next and never marked it on Goodreads or wrote my review :/ Thankfully, I remember this book very clearly because it was the end of the series and a great way to go out.

First of all, it was really funny. Probably the funniest of the series – because it was just so out there. Garnet and Sebastian are supposed to be on their way to Europe for their honeymoon and instead she sees a goddess on the plane wings, freaks out (understandably) and she and Sebastian end up getting off the plane and questioned for hours by the FBI/CIA/I forget exactly which acronym was in play.

I really enjoyed seeing the ghost of xmas past so to speak… Garnet had to face who she once was a realize she wasn’t actually the best person. She also has to come to grips with her warring goddesses before they tear her apart – and again, some of this means accepting who she is and which goddess fits her best.

There’s also some secret society craziness and Sebastian getting arrested over his not quite legitimate papers. Oh and the best scene involving a cat ever (and I’m a dog person!).

Anyway loved it, thought it was a great way to end the series and I’m so glad Amanda Ronconi was narrating. I look forward to jumping into more series by Tate Hallaway now that I’ve read and loved this one!

4.5 stars I loved it

About Berls

Michelle adopted me as part of her blog when I decided to close down my blog, Fantasy is More Fun. The blog was dying, but my love of reading and the blogosphere was still strong as ever - so I found my new home here at Because Reading!

I'm not just a book lover, but a one time author (that hopes to be more in the future), wife, mom to the cutest, happiest, best 1 year old and step-mom to the craziest, sweetest 20 year old on the planet. My family mean everything to me and they appear frequently in the Sunday Post with Berls. So grab a glass of wine and chat books, blogging, and family with me!

Tags:

Divider

Want more awesome posts like this? Subscribe to my blog via email!

3 responses to “Just a Few Garnet Lacey Books I Read #audio #review