My To-Be Read List ~ Lets Vote ~ May

Posted May 6, 2017 by Michelle in My TBR List, Uncategorized / 14 Comments

MyTBRListWe sit for hours looking through our TBR lists wondering when we will ever get to that one book we were dying to read when we added it 3 months ago or maybe even a year. As our piles get bigger we realize there is just not enough time in a day to read all the books that we wanted to read. So I had a great idea, pick 3 books from my TBR Pile and have you all pick which one I should read next. This is a monthly MEME and you are more than welcome to join me. Just create a blog post with your three books and link the post below. Need the full rules? No problem, you can find them all right HERE. Don’t forget to stop by the blogs on the linky below to help the other bloggers by voting on their next read!

I thought we can keep up with each list with the hashtag #MyTBRL so add that to the end of your post so if you can’t get to the linky we can still find you 🙂

Divider

So this month I picked

 

The Emerald Tablet (Five Elements #1)
by Dan Jolley
ebook, 304 pages
Published October 18th 2016 by HarperCollins

Goodreads

Five elements. Four friends. One city—and its sinister shadow. The action-packed adventure of Percy Jackson meets the elemental magic of Avatar: The Last Airbender in this epic new middle grade series.

I name myself water.
I name myself air.
I name myself earth.
I name myself fire.

When Gabe and his friends find a strange old map in his uncle’s office, follow it to a crumbling secret chamber beneath San Francisco, and perform a ritual that promises to bind them together forever, they think they’re just having one last adventure before Gabe moves away. It’s not like they believe the “power of the elements” is real.

But then things begin to happen that none of them can explain. In their search for answers, the four friends draw the attention of a sinister cult that’s plotting to merge our world with a twisted parallel realm…and discover that they are all that stands between San Francisco and utter destruction.

Full of awesome elemental powers, nightmarish creatures, and nonstop adventure, this cinematic and fast-paced series opener is the perfect next read for kids who have devoured books by Rick Riordan, Ridley Pearson, and Brandon Mull.


The Parent Agency
by David Baddiel
384 pages
Published May 3rd 2016 by HarperCollins (first published October 9th 2014)

Goodreads

A boy travels to an alternate world where kids get to choose their own parents in this zany, internationally bestselling adventure, which combines the be-careful-what-you-wish-for humor of The Chocolate Touch with the classic appeal of Roald Dahl.

Barry Bennett is sick of his parents. They’re boring, they’re too strict, and it’s their fault his name is Barry. So he makes a wish for better ones—and is whisked away to the Parent Agency, where kids get to pick out their perfect parents.

For Barry, this seems like a dream come true. But as he’s about to discover, choosing a new mom and dad isn’t as simple as it sounds…

The Parent Agency is the first children’s book by British author and comedian David Baddiel, and it includes illustrations by Roald Dahl Funny Prize–winning artist Jim Field.

 


 

The Secret Destiny of Pixie Piper (Pixie Piper #1)
by Annabelle Fisher, Natalie Andrewson (Illustrations)
320 pages
Published May 3rd 2016 by Greenwillow Books

Goodreads

Pixie Piper, an ordinary fifth grader, discovers she is a direct descendent of Mother Goose, and she has the magical ability and poetry power to prove it! A lively and funny twist on a classic character for fans of the Clementine books, Wendy Mass, and Lisa Graff.

Fifth grader Pixie Piper has always known she was a little different. She has a wild mop of hair that won’t stay put, her best friend is a boy, and to top it all off, she’s constantly coming up with rhymes and poems that just seem to pop out of her. Then, when Pixie thinks it can’t get any worse, she finds out that she actually is different—she’s a descendant of Mother Goose! This surprising and clever novel features family, friendship, poetry, a toilet museum, just the right amount of magic, as well as a goose, a fox, and a beautiful golden retriever puppy. Rich, multigenerational characters and the real and powerful portrayal of grade school friendships, with all their ups and downs, distinguishes this terrific elementary school story that will appeal to fans of Judy Moody, Clementine, and novels by Wendy Mass and Lisa Graff.

 Let’s Vote….

Pick one of the three books in the survey to help me find what book I will read this month

Divider

Post your link here and visit the other blogs to help them vote on their next read…


Divider

Help Michelle @Because Reading find her next read! Come #vote! #MyTBRL Click To Tweet

Thank you so much for stopping by to vote 🙂

Check back next week to see which one I will be reading!

Have a great day and Happy Reading!

Name2014

About Michelle

I am a mom to two pretty amazing kids, three pretty cute fluffy children and a wife to one adorable husband. I am a gamer, reader and a graphic designer with 20 years experience. I recently started my own business "Limabean Designs" to help other bloggers, authors and anyone else create amazing things that they would be proud to show off. I have been reading since forever and started blogging because I love sharing all the awesome books this world has to offer. I am also the co-host for the COYER Challenge, Reading Assignment Challenge, Author Luv, Bloggiesta and the Bookish Resolutions Challenge. I try to create a warm welcoming environment on my blog where authors, readers, and bloggers will have a great time. Let’s chat books, games, blogging, recipes, design, or family over a cup of coffee and a glass of wine!

Tags:

Divider

Want more awesome posts like this? Subscribe to my blog via email!

14 responses to “My To-Be Read List ~ Lets Vote ~ May

  1. Last weekend I almost did a poll to see what my next read should be as I was having so much trouble deciding! It really is time consuming trying to figure it out . . .

    All your choices sound good, Michelle. I think I am going to vote for The Emerald Tablet. That one interests me the most! I hope you like whichever wins. Have a great rest of the weekend, Michelle!

  2. I voted Five elements because cults and dragon on the cover and stuff. 🙂 Although The Parent Agency sounds kinda fun. Happy reading!

    Greg recently posted: Sunday Post #193