#Review ~ Omega City (Omega City #1) by Diana Peterfreund

Posted February 27, 2016 by Michelle in Review / 18 Comments

#Review ~  Omega City (Omega City #1) by Diana PeterfreundOmega City (Omega City, #1) by Diana Peterfreund
Published by Balzer + Bray on April 28th 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Humor, Middle Grade
Pages: 336
Format: eBook
Source: Edelweiss
Goodreads
four-stars

The first middle grade novel in an exciting new series from acclaimed author Diana Peterfreund, perfect for fans of The Goonies and The City of Ember.

Gillian Seagret doesn't listen to people who say her father's a crackpot. His conspiracy theories about the lost technology of Cold War–era rocket scientist Dr. Aloysius Underberg may have cost him his job and forced them to move to the middle of nowhere, but Gillian knows he's right and plans to prove it.

When she discovers a missing page from Dr. Underberg's diary in her father's mess of an office, she thinks she's found a big piece of the puzzle—a space-themed riddle promising to lead to Dr. Underberg's greatest invention. Enlisting the help of her skeptical younger brother, Eric, her best friend, Savannah, and Howard, their NASA-obsessed schoolmate, Gillian sets off on a journey into the ruins of Omega City, a vast doomsday bunker deep inside the earth,.

But they aren't alone inside its dark and flooded halls. For while Gillian wants to save her dad's reputation by bringing Dr. Underberg's secrets to light, there are others who will stop at nothing to make sure they stay buried . . . forever.

My Review:

I am so glad I got the chance to read this book, with a description that says it’s similar to Goonies I knew this was going to be a fun book. I was a little worried, the beginning had a lot of info and it was a tad bit slower than I would have hoped it could be. HOWEVER I loved it regardless. This story had the Goonies feel and sometimes I would see the comparison which was great but the story isn’t the same. This was a lot of fun and the characters were so funny. It had everything you would want in a Middle Grade book, action, adventure, humor, danger and a treasure map. I am so happy to have read this book and I am hoping with the way it ended we are in for another ride with these characters on another adventure.

Gillian knows her Dad didn’t make up all the stuff he put in his book about Dr. Underberg but someone is setting him up. Someone destroyed all of his work and when Gillian finds a  piece of the puzzle that might help prove her father isn’t crazy she sets off on an adventure with the help of her brother Eric, her BFF Savannah, Howard a space enthusiast and his brother Nate. They go on a dangerous adventure to uncover a treasure that might prove her dad was right about everything he said in his book. What they find is something so much more but time is running out and they are trapped in an underground city with a group of dangerous people chasing them.

I really liked all the characters in this book they did have a similar feel to goonies with the older boy Nate trying to keep order and the love struck Savannah and the treasure seeking Gillian. I just adored them all. This is a great book for all ages and even with the slow parts I really found this book very enjoyable. I totally recommend to anyone looking to go on a fun adventure with a group of real great kids.

Divider


Divider

Thank you so much for stopping by to check out my review

Hope you have a great day and Happy Reading!

Name2014

About Michelle

I am a mom to two pretty amazing kids, three pretty cute fluffy children and a wife to one adorable husband. I am a gamer, reader and a graphic designer with 20 years experience. I recently started my own business "Limabean Designs" to help other bloggers, authors and anyone else create amazing things that they would be proud to show off. I have been reading since forever and started blogging because I love sharing all the awesome books this world has to offer. I am also the co-host for the COYER Challenge, Reading Assignment Challenge, Author Luv, Bloggiesta and the Bookish Resolutions Challenge. I try to create a warm welcoming environment on my blog where authors, readers, and bloggers will have a great time. Let’s chat books, games, blogging, recipes, design, or family over a cup of coffee and a glass of wine!

Tags:

Divider

Want more awesome posts like this? Subscribe to my blog via email!

18 responses to “#Review ~ Omega City (Omega City #1) by Diana Peterfreund

  1. Ahhh, I knew this one sounded good. I’m glad the book we picked for you to read wound up being a great one! Might need to get this for myself one of these days. I wonder if they have it in audiobook format…

  2. I have this one on my to-read list as it sounds like a good book. I haven’t heard of the Goonies before, so not sure if the fact this is similiar to the goonies is a good thing or not. Your description of action, adventure and a treasure map makes me think this is the kind of MG book I would enjoy as well. Great review!

  3. It must be good if it’s got a treasure map! 🙂 Seriously though, glad this one was good. It sure looks fun. I love the idea of an underground city and the kids does sound like a Goonies comparison. Great review!

    Greg recently posted: Sunday Post #131