So have you ever read a middle grade book?

Posted April 10, 2013 by Michelle in Uncategorized / 2 Comments

Middle Grade books, are really kind of a guilty pleasure for me
but I‘m not really guilty for reading them  🙂

Last year I was able to explore paintings with Olive and three very interesting cats, 
got lost in an unusual world with a bunch of lost children, 
circumnavigated a flying machine of my own making in a strange world 
(that even now I can’t even figure out what I read)
and discovered 100 cupboards in an attic.

No romance, no love triangles, No teen angst…. 
just a vivid imagination of a child in a world created just for them. 

I’ve talk about Twisted Fairy Tales and how much I love them 
I reviewed books that were young adults and even paranormal romance’s that
make you tingle, but never told you about my love for middle grade books.

So in this post and maybe a couple of other ones I decided to take a few of my favorite 
or at least ones I have read last year and share them with you
 and a couple that I am looking forward to reading. 

I read a lot of these books for my kids. 
Both are still in the process of learning to read 
and I am happy to be able to recommend books to them 
when they are looking for something to read. 
 
So to begin this blog I will start with my one of my favorites the fourth book 
in the series is coming out this year 7/16/13 (may not be exact date)
  and it’s called

The Shadows: The Books of Elsewhere: Volume 1
by
Eleven Year Old Olive Dunwoody moves into a Victorian Mansion with her Mathematician Parents. Things aren’t what they seem when the painting won’t come off the wall and wait did they just move? 3 rather strange cats that can TALK and soon has to confront a dark and evil presence in the house they will try at anything to get rid of her. Can Olive stop the evil and save herself and the house before its to late…..
With the feel of Coraline this book was so much fun to read. Jumping in an out of painting and exploring a spooky house. Meeting the neighbors strange but sweet grandson Morton. I can’t even explain that if I wasn’t allergic to Cat’s I would have three and name them Horatio, Leopold and Harvey. Each with their own wonderful personality. Funny, spooky, exciting and mysterious this book had everything an adult or middle grader would love. I adored Olive she is such a fun character to read about. I love her parents kind of nerdy and they truly love Olive but they are so involved in math (seriously) they tend to over look her sometimes. 

Fun, Excited, Mystery and a lot of Imagination. I absolutely adored this book. 
 

Spellbound (The Books of Elsewhere, #2)

Spellbound (The Books of Elsewhere #2)
by
Goodreads Link
With no way into the house’s magical paintings, and its three guardian cats reluctant to help, Olive’s friend Morton is still trapped inside Elsewhere. So when Rutherford, the new oddball kid next door, mentions a grimoire – a spellbook – Olive feels a breathless tug of excitement. If she can find the McMartins’ spellbook, maybe she can help Morton escape Elsewhere for good. Unless, that is, the book finds Olive first.
The house isn’t the only one keeping secrets anymore. Mystery, magic, corruption, and betrayal abound (plus just enough laughs to take the edge off). You’ll never guess what happens next in this thrilling, chilling second volume in the critically acclaimed series.

The Second Spy (The Books of Elsewhere, #3)

The Second Spy (The Books of Elsewhere #3) 
by
Goodreads Link
In Olive’s third adventure, what lurks below the house could be as dangerous as what’s hidden inside . . .
Some terrifying things have happened to Olive in the old stone house, but none as scary as starting junior high. Or so she thinks. When she plummets through a hole in her backyard, though, she realizes two things that may change her mind: First, the wicked Annabelle McMartin is back. Second, there’s a secret underground that unlocks not one but two of Elsewhere’s biggest, most powerful, most dangerous forces yet. But with the house’s guardian cats acting suspicious, her best friend threatening to move away, and her ally Morton starting to rebel, Olive isn’t sure where to turn. Will she figure it out in time? Or will she be lured into Elsewhere, and trapped there for good?

The next two in the series were just as amazing as the story continues to follow Olive, Morton, Horatio, Leopold and Harvey and trying to defeat the evil that lives inside the house. The story has some great Twist and turns. Gives you a lot to hold your attention and when the third book is done you can’t wait to read more.  

For kid/adults of all ages I recommend these book.

I gave them 5/5 Stars. Well written and completely unique story 🙂

The Strangers (The Books of Elsewhere, #4)
by
7/16/13 (may not be exact date)
 Goodreads Link
Olive thought she’d uncovered all the house’s secrets. She was wrong.

It’s Halloween night when strangers come to Linden Street…and something dear to Olive goes missing. To what lengths will she go to get it back? Can she trust the strangers? Will she turn to a new and dangerous magic within the paintings of Elsewhere? Or will she put her faith in her own worst enemies to save the people and home she loves?

The stakes grow higher, the secrets more dangerous, and mystery and magic abound as Olive, the boys, and the cats uncover the true nature of the house on Linden Street. A must-read fantasy series for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.

I am very excited about this book I have been waiting for it for over a year…..I HATE waiting 😉 Not sure how many are in the series. I have heard this is not the last one. 

  
I can’t wait to be able to read this and give my opinion. It’s just such a fantastic series. 
I can gush all day about it 🙂 It’s a series that I really want my daughter to read when she gets older.  I have even considered reading them to her.

I do hope you enjoyed this post about my favorite Middle Grade Book
 
So have you read any middle grade books?
Feel free to share them with me. 
I guess you can say I’m still very much a kid at heart 🙂
Until next time…
Have a great week!!!
and
Happy Reading!!!
   

About Michelle

I am a mom to two pretty amazing kids, three pretty cute fluffy children and a wife to one adorable husband. I am a gamer, reader and a graphic designer with 20 years experience. I recently started my own business "Limabean Designs" to help other bloggers, authors and anyone else create amazing things that they would be proud to show off. I have been reading since forever and started blogging because I love sharing all the awesome books this world has to offer. I am also the co-host for the COYER Challenge, Reading Assignment Challenge, Author Luv, Bloggiesta and the Bookish Resolutions Challenge. I try to create a warm welcoming environment on my blog where authors, readers, and bloggers will have a great time. Let’s chat books, games, blogging, recipes, design, or family over a cup of coffee and a glass of wine!

Tags:

Divider

Want more awesome posts like this? Subscribe to my blog via email!

2 responses to “So have you ever read a middle grade book?

  1. I LOVE Diana Wynne Jones' books, a lot of which probably fall into the middle grade section. I think there's something so comforting about a 'younger' read every now and then, plus often they can be just as clever and entertaining as YA or adult books! I haven't heard of The Books of elsewhere though, I'll have to check them out! 🙂

    Eleanor @ April 11, 2013, 8:59 am

    • I totally agree with you!! It is refreshing reading a great fantasy story, especially if it is funny and clever, and the most times these stories are children's books! Well, I believe that you can never be too old to read and enjoy a good children's story! 🙂
      I also haven't heard about Books of Elsewhere, but now I added them to my ever-growing list!!