March 2019 #MyTBRL Help me pick my next read!

Posted March 2, 2019 by Michelle in Uncategorized / 8 Comments

MyTBRListWe sit for hours looking through our TBR lists wondering when we will ever get to that one book we were dying to read when we added it 3 months ago or maybe even a year. As our piles get bigger we realize there is just not enough time in a day to read all the books that we wanted to read. So I had a great idea, pick 3 books from my TBR Pile and have you all pick which one I should read next. This is a monthly MEME and you are more than welcome to join me. Just create a blog post with your three books and link the post below. Need the full rules? No problem, you can find them all right HERE. Don’t forget to stop by the blogs on the linky below to help the other bloggers by voting on their next read!

I thought we can keep up with each list with the hashtag #MyTBRL so add that to the end of your post so if you can’t get to the linky we can still find you 🙂

Divider

So this month I picked

 

The Storm Keeper’s Island (Storm Keeper #1)
by Catherine Doyle
320 pages
Published January 22nd 2019 by Bloomsbury Children’s Books

Goodreads 

Catherine Doyle’s stunning middle-grade debut, an evocative tale of ancient magic, bravery, and family bonds.

“Fans of Harry Potter or Percy Jackson can add Fionn Boyle as a generous and brave hero from the Emerald Isle.” – School Library Connection

When Fionn Boyle sets foot on Arranmore Island, it begins to stir beneath his feet.

Once in a generation, the island chooses a new Storm Keeper – someone to wield its power and keep its magic safe from enemies. The time has come for Fionn’s grandfather, a secretive and eccentric old man, to step down. Soon, a new Keeper will rise.

Fionn’s ancestral home has been waiting for him. But, deep underground, someone else has been waiting, too. As the battle rages over who will become the island’s next champion, a more sinister magic is waking up, intent on rekindling an ancient war.

Catherine Doyle’s gorgeously written and evocative tale is perfect for fans of Orphan Island, Beyond the Bright Sea, and A Snicker of Magic.


 

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club
(The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club #1)
by Alex Bell
320 pages
Published December 8th 2018
by Simon Schuster Books for Young Readers

Goodreads

I, Stella Starflake Pearl, do solemnly swear that I will explore faraway lands, strange seas, exotic jungles and forbidden deserts. That I will bravely face fierce monsters, bloodthirsty savages, savage beasts and ferocious weather. I will seek to extend the limits of human understanding, discover new wonders, and commit astonishing acts of derring-do.

Join Stella Starflake Pearl as she explores the snowy Icelands and comes face-to-face with frost fairies, snow queens, outlaw hideouts, unicorns, pygmy dinosaurs and carnivorous cabbages . . .

When Stella and three other junior explorers get separated from their expedition can they cross the frozen wilderness and live to tell the tale?


 

Nightbooks
by J.A. White
304 pages
Published July 24th 2018 by Katherine Tegen Books

Goodreads

A boy is imprisoned by a witch and must tell her a new scary story each night to stay alive. This thrilling contemporary fantasy from J. A. White, the acclaimed author of the Thickety series, brings to life the magic and craft of storytelling.

Alex’s original hair-raising tales are the only thing keeping the witch Natacha happy, but soon he’ll run out of pages to read from and be trapped forever. He’s loved scary stories his whole life, and he knows most don’t have a happily ever after. Now that Alex is trapped in a true terrifying tale, he’s desperate for a different ending—and a way out of this twisted place.

This modern spin on the Scheherazade story is perfect for fans of Coraline and A Tale Dark and Grimm. With interwoven tips on writing with suspense, adding in plot twists, hooks, interior logic, and dealing with writer’s block, this is the ideal book for budding writers and all readers of delightfully just-dark-enough tales.

 Let’s Vote….

Pick one of the three books in the survey to help me find what book I will read this month

Divider

Post your link here and visit the other blogs to help them vote on their next read…

 Loading InLinkz ...

Divider

Thank you so much for stopping by to vote 🙂

Check back next week to see which one I will be reading!

Have a great day and Happy Reading!

Name2014

About Michelle

I am a mom to two pretty amazing kids, three pretty cute fluffy children and a wife to one adorable husband. I am a gamer, reader and a graphic designer with 20 years experience. I recently started my own business "Limabean Designs" to help other bloggers, authors and anyone else create amazing things that they would be proud to show off. I have been reading since forever and started blogging because I love sharing all the awesome books this world has to offer. I am also the co-host for the COYER Challenge, Reading Assignment Challenge, Author Luv, Bloggiesta and the Bookish Resolutions Challenge. I try to create a warm welcoming environment on my blog where authors, readers, and bloggers will have a great time. Let’s chat books, games, blogging, recipes, design, or family over a cup of coffee and a glass of wine!

Tags:

Divider

Want more awesome posts like this? Subscribe to my blog via email!

8 responses to “March 2019 #MyTBRL Help me pick my next read!

  1. I voted for Polar Bear even though it looks like it skews pretty young, but I don’t know it sounds fun? Nightbooks wins for kickass cover tho!

    Greg recently posted: Sunday Post #287