Summer Reading List ~ Lillian @ Mom with a Reading Problem

Posted June 22, 2016 by Michelle in And A Book / 6 Comments

SummerreadinglistI asked a few of my favorite bloggers to give me a list of books that they recommend for your summer reading list. As always I got a awesome mix of some really amazing books. I hope this will make your summer reading more enjoyable as you feel the sand between your toes and the sun on your face.

Divider

Summer Reading Suggestions by Lillian @ Mom with a Reading Problem

When I think Summer, I think sun and fun, hot nights, and sweet romance. For those that know my reading tastes this may surprise you. My typical reads are young adult, clean romances, and anything fantasy, paranormal or science fiction. BUT not in the summer! I tend to look for what I call cupcake reads: quick to devour and satisfy my sweet craving. I grab those short, contemporary romances that leave your heart warmed and a goofy grin on your face. Here are 10 cupcake reads perfect for your Summer reading:

If We Were a Movie by Kelly Oram: I love Kelly Oram! She writes sweet, contemporary romance. This one in particular is a fun read that left me smiling long after it was over. AND it’s told from a male perspective which is atypical of these types of books.

The Girl from Summer Hill by Jude Deveraux: For fans of Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, this is a fun, must read. The story is told in alternating POVs among all the characters, each chapter starts with a short description that pays homage to the original story and gives the reader an idea of what’s to come.

A Taste of Sugar by Marina Adair: You really can’t go wrong with this author. All of her books are short, sweet and steamy romances. This book (actually series) appealed to me because of its Southern charm, set in the heart of Georgia.

Pimpernel by Sheralyn Pratt: This is a new favorite of mine. It’s a story about a girl with extreme obsessive compulsive disorder, off her medications, and caught up in the middle of an illegal scam. While it is extremely light on the romance, it’s a fun crime/mystery that has stuck with me. Based off the classic The Scarlet Pimpernel.

Wicked Appetite by Janet Evanovich: I love this author and her spinoff series to Plum is a lot of fun. Lizzy and Diesel are great characters, solving mysteries despite some hilarious calamities. If you are looking to laugh, this should be on your list!

Upside Down by Lia Riley: This steamy, new adult/college romance is set in Australia and follows one girl’s journey as she grieves the death of her sister and copes with her own disability. I fell in love with Talia and Bran and think you will too!

Persuaded by Misty Dawn Pulsipher: Another book for fans of Austen. This story is a modern day retelling of Persuasion. I loved the sweet story and may have even shed a tear or two.

Fast Forward by Juliet Madison: If you enjoyed the movie 13 Going on 30, than this is a must-read! This book follows a young woman’s life who went to bed 25 and woke up 50. Nothing in her life at 50 is what she expected it to be and it is a fun story about second-chances and living your life to the fullest.

The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks: If you haven’t already read this book or maybe you just saw the movie, it needs to be on your Summer list. First love and Summer fling combine in this romantic tale about one couple’s epic love story.

Distraction by Angela McPherson: Who doesn’t love a best friends turned lovers story?! This particular one is full of angst and heart-ache but oh so sweet in the execution. I cried, I laughed, I yelled at the characters, and then I promptly reread it.

About Lillian @ Mom with a Reading Problem

Mom With a Reading Problem

I’m a 30 year old Southern girl, currently living in the mountains of East TN. I started blogging 3 years ago on a dare from my husband after I became a stay-at-home mama to our little man and haven’t looked back. When I’m not blogging or reading, I’m a superhero or Jedi and sometimes I’m just Mom. More About Me ↠

Social Links:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/momwithareadingproblem

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/lillian_mccurry

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/lmccurry286

Google+: https://plus.google.com/+LillianMcCurry

Bloglovin: https://www.bloglovin.com/blogs/mom-with-a-reading-problem-12880109

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/momwithareadingproblem

Divider

About Michelle

I am a mom to two pretty amazing kids, three pretty cute fluffy children and a wife to one adorable husband. I am a gamer, reader and a graphic designer with 20 years experience. I recently started my own business "Limabean Designs" to help other bloggers, authors and anyone else create amazing things that they would be proud to show off. I have been reading since forever and started blogging because I love sharing all the awesome books this world has to offer. I am also the co-host for the COYER Challenge, Reading Assignment Challenge, Author Luv, Bloggiesta and the Bookish Resolutions Challenge. I try to create a warm welcoming environment on my blog where authors, readers, and bloggers will have a great time. Let’s chat books, games, blogging, recipes, design, or family over a cup of coffee and a glass of wine!

Tags: , ,

Divider

Want more awesome posts like this? Subscribe to my blog via email!

6 responses to “Summer Reading List ~ Lillian @ Mom with a Reading Problem

  1. I saw the cover of Persuaded and wouldn’t have known it for an Austen retelling, with the rough seas and stormy clouds- it looks like kind of a dark read. And Fast Forward sounds fun- 25 to 50? Yikes!! That’s a big jump! 🙂

    It’s fun seeing what everyone reads in the summer.

    • That sounds like a fantastic idea <3 I'm going to be working on my Netgalley shelf. Goal is to clear it off this summer! Enjoy your reads 😀