#Review ~ The Pillars of Ponderay (The Balance Keepers #2) by Lindsay Cummings

Posted September 14, 2015 by Michelle in Review / 4 Comments

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

#Review ~ The Pillars of Ponderay (The Balance Keepers #2) by Lindsay CummingsThe Pillars of Ponderay by Lindsay Cummings
Series: ,
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on September 22nd 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Friendship, Magic, Middle Grade
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Goodreads
five-stars

The second book in Lindsay Cummings’s epic middle grade fantasy adventure trilogy, reminiscent of Journey to the Center of the Earth

Albert Flynn is psyched to return to the Core, the magical world at the center of the earth where Balance Keepers fix problems in three underground Realms. Last term, Albert and his Balance Keeper teammates Birdie and Leroy saved New York by fixing the Calderon Realm and were crowned First Unit, aka the Coolest Kids in the Core.

Now Albert and his teammates have been called to the Core for an emergency training session…along with their archenemy, Hoyt. There’s a horrible Imbalance in the Ponderay Realm and they have only seven days before California will be swallowed by hurricanes, earthquakes, and tsunamis. Worse yet, it’s rumored there’s a traitor among them who is causing all this chaos.

Will Albert, Leroy, and Birdie discover who’s been putting the Core—and the world above—in danger? Can they save Ponderay before California becomes an underwater wasteland forever?

This second book in Lindsay Cummings’s epic fantasy adventure series is packed with fantastical creatures, perilous journeys, and the magic of choosing to do what’s right.

Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson or Lisa McMann’s the Unwanteds series

My Review:

This is book two, please note that it might contain spoilers if you have not read the first book

This is without a doubt one of my favorite middle grade series. I read the first book last year and totally loved how different it was but it has the same feel, similar to Harry Potter in the way of the friendship between the characters and the secrets of the world they live in. The story brings Albert, Birdie and Leroy back to the Core during the off season of balance keeping. They usually spend the summer at the Core but during winter break something is amiss and the kids are called back to help save the world again. This time it looks like the realms have been sabotaged and might have been all along. It’s up to Albert and his friends plus a few enemies to help get the world back into balance.

I adore these kids, I love the bond they have they all take very good care of each other and love what they are able to do. Using there tiles they can control different things. If you read the first book you will know that the tiles give each holder a different sort of power that only works in the Core. I love how much the kids have grown in this book but not a lot, they still have a playfulness to them but you can see they are true heroes. This book has action and adventure from start to finish. I love books that get moving right at the beginning and since this is book two you already had the world build and character development so it was nice to jump right in. However the world build is like never ending since you have another realm to explore and the explanation takes you right into the action. All the twist and turns had me seriously at the edge of my seat wanting to make sure the kids and the core were going to be ok. At times I thought the story may have been a little rushed and some of the training seemed long but over all this was a very enjoyable read and the end left me wanting to find out what happens next. I am eager for the next book.

This is a great series for MG, YA and Adults, packed with lots of adventure, action, humor and lots of twists & turn. This is one series that you will devour after the first page.

This is a great series for MG, YA and Adults, packed with adventure, action, humor and lots of twists & turn. Click To Tweet

Divider

Thank you so much for stopping by to check out my review

Hope you have a great day and Happy Reading!

Name2014

About Michelle

I am a mom to two pretty amazing kids, three pretty cute fluffy children and a wife to one adorable husband. I am a gamer, reader and a graphic designer with 20 years experience. I recently started my own business "Limabean Designs" to help other bloggers, authors and anyone else create amazing things that they would be proud to show off. I have been reading since forever and started blogging because I love sharing all the awesome books this world has to offer. I am also the co-host for the COYER Challenge, Reading Assignment Challenge, Author Luv, Bloggiesta and the Bookish Resolutions Challenge. I try to create a warm welcoming environment on my blog where authors, readers, and bloggers will have a great time. Let’s chat books, games, blogging, recipes, design, or family over a cup of coffee and a glass of wine!

Tags:

Divider

Want more awesome posts like this? Subscribe to my blog via email!

4 responses to “#Review ~ The Pillars of Ponderay (The Balance Keepers #2) by Lindsay Cummings