Review ~ The Fires of Calderon by Lindsay Cummings

Posted June 5, 2014 by Michelle in Review, Uncategorized / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from ARC, Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review ~ The Fires of Calderon by Lindsay CummingsThe Fires of Calderon by Lindsay Cummings
Series: The Balance Keepers #1
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on September 23rd 2014
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Middle Grade
Pages: 352
Format: ARC
Source: ARC, Edelweiss
Goodreads
four-half-stars

The first book in an epic middle grade fantasy adventure series that takes place in an underground society at the center of the earth. Packed with action, humor, magic, and mystery.

After following a mysterious map into the woods and then under the woods, eleven-year-old Albert Flynn learns he’s a Balance Keeper—someone with special magical skills for fixing problems in three underground Realms at the Core of the earth. His new job is important; if the realms fall out of balance, the world above could be in great danger.

Albert and his Balance Keeper teammates Birdie and Leroy arrive in the Core not a moment too soon. There’s an Imbalance in the Calderon Realm and it’s threatening to bury Albert’s hometown of New York City in a mountain of ash.

The three must train hard completing mental and physical challenges, but above all, they must harness the power of their Tiles—unique superpowers given to each Balance Keeper. So far, Albert’s mastered the art of not mastering his Tile....

With the situation in Calderon growing worse every day, can Albert, Leroy, and Birdie restore balance before New York is destroyed forever? Will Albert master his Tile before it’s too late?

Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson, The Unwanteds, and the classic Journey to the Center of the Earth.

My ReviewCan I tell you I really loved this book? I am quite fond of Middle Grade reads because they are so fun and have such strong stories full of imagination and make believe. I read Lindsay Cummings YA book and loved it so this book was a must for me to read and she did not disappoint. She created a world underground and 3 lovable characters that reminded me a little of the friendship in Harry Potter. I adore Albert, Leroy and Birdie and I loved the friendship they had, three quiet kids that connect with each other and work as an amazing team.

The story starts with Albert, it’s in his POV, he is chosen to be a keeper in a world that is located underground. With a Harry Potter feel and a journey to the center of the earth layout, this was so much fun to read. I really enjoyed it and I look forward to having both my kids enjoy this book when they are ready for a fun adventure in a world unlike any I have every read. The world build was great and I loved all the characters in the book. The only problem I had with this book was the end was a bit rushed. It was so exciting I kind of wanted more of that and less of them training, I also wanted a little more back story of the characters however not knowing didn’t take anything away from them but I wished I had a little more detail. The kids each had to find tiles and really enjoyed how each one gave the person who wore it a different ability, very interesting and unique idea. I wonder what I would have gotten; I hope the one that Albert received because that one seems really cool. I think a lot can come from this story I look forward to finding out more about the characters, world and tiles in the next book. I am 100% for sure reading the next one I can’t wait.

I honestly want to rant and rave about this book but I don’t want to give anything away. I love Lindsay’s imagination and her writing style is wonderful. She can tell an incredible story. I am happy to add her as one of my favorites and pretty much am looking forward to anything she writes.

I gave The Fires of Calderon 4.5/5 stars. Action, Adventure, Friendship and a whole new world to explore, this is a fantastic book for middle grade and adults. I would 100% recommend this book, Lindsay did a fantastic job and I really can’t wait to read were she takes Albert, Leroy and Birdie next.


Thank you so much for stopping by to check out my review

Have you read this book?

Let’s Chat..

Hope you have a great day

and Happy Reading!

Name2014

Please pardon any spelling or grammar errors. I suck at both and spell check totally hates me 🙂

About Michelle

I am a mom to two pretty amazing kids, three pretty cute fluffy children and a wife to one adorable husband. I am a gamer, reader and a graphic designer with 20 years experience. I recently started my own business "Limabean Designs" to help other bloggers, authors and anyone else create amazing things that they would be proud to show off. I have been reading since forever and started blogging because I love sharing all the awesome books this world has to offer. I am also the co-host for the COYER Challenge, Reading Assignment Challenge, Author Luv, Bloggiesta and the Bookish Resolutions Challenge. I try to create a warm welcoming environment on my blog where authors, readers, and bloggers will have a great time. Let’s chat books, games, blogging, recipes, design, or family over a cup of coffee and a glass of wine!

Tags:

Divider

Want more awesome posts like this? Subscribe to my blog via email!