Review ~ The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings #review #COYER

Posted March 24, 2014 by Michelle in Review / 12 Comments

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review ~ The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings #review #COYERThe Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings
Series: The Murder Complex
Published by Greenwillow Books on June 10th 2014
Genres: Distopian, YA, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Format: eBook
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on AmazonBuy on B&N
Goodreads
five-stars

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

jss_aprilshowers_stitches straight purpleMy review

Have you ever had a book hangover so bad you can’t even form a simple thought without thinking about the book. I have been trying so hard to recover from The Murder Complex. Now I sit to write a review and I can’t find the right words to tell you how amazing this book was and how I have never read a book like this and I actually want you to read it because I think you should or need to, it’s a must. So now I will take a deep breath and try my best but I will warn you my words will do this book no justice it’s that friggin good…

The format of this book switches from Meadow to Zephyr our main characters. I actually loved this format, It was interesting to see the situation laid out with both characters each telling the story in each other’s point of view but the story moved forward it doesn’t play out the situation in both point of view (if that makes sense) I honestly adored both characters and seeing both of there lives in this world that no one dies, no one is allowed to leave and if you go out at night you could be killed. If you are killed it’s like no one really cares (maybe just your family) they leave you on the street and people clean you up like garbage and then business as usual. The world she builds actually prevented me from wanting to walk my dog at night. When I put the book down it took me a few minutes to get out of her world. You get such a strong sense of your surroundings and how scary this world is to live in.

The characters, I still think about them. Meadow, she is strong, passionate and will do anything for her family (no matter how I felt about them myself she cared about them), I loved her and I love how kick ass she was. Zephyr was kind of wimpy I thought, however he does have some ass kicking in him but it takes some time before it comes out. My heart breaks for him, like I wanted to hug him and tell him it’s ok but he also might scare me a little but Meadow scares me more. I understand the need for hard love but Meadow’s Father and Brother were hostile I thought and I know they did it out of love but something about what they did rubbed me the wrong way, I really felt for both Meadow and Peri (her little sister) they have such a love for each other and I know the entire family cared but with all the harshness in the world you would have hoped there would be at least a little family love but it goes very well with the story and totally works.

The Story, I just don’t even know what to say I don’t want to give anything away, I spend most of my time just saying Oh my god…Oh my god….WHAT!!!! The story flows has a fast pace and I never felt like I just wanted to get through the book, I absorbed every word and took in all the emotions coming off the pages. I some points I may have yelled out loud and actually had to put the book down to talk to myself about what was happening. The end leaves so much in your head. I loved all the twists and turns and I enjoyed learning the secrets about Meadow and the world. I was completely blown away and turned every page holding my breath waiting to see what happened next.

I gave The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings 5/5 stars and would have given it more stars if the rating system allowed. I adored the characters, loved the world in a scary kind of post-apocalyptic kind of way (if you can love a post apocalyptic world love this one) and a need for more. I 100% recommend this book. I honestly hope this review made a little bit of sense lol I just LOVED this book.

Thank you for stopping by to check out my review 🙂

Name2014

Challenge Logo Header

About Michelle

I am a mom to two pretty amazing kids, three pretty cute fluffy children and a wife to one adorable husband. I am a gamer, reader and a graphic designer with 20 years experience. I recently started my own business "Limabean Designs" to help other bloggers, authors and anyone else create amazing things that they would be proud to show off. I have been reading since forever and started blogging because I love sharing all the awesome books this world has to offer. I am also the co-host for the COYER Challenge, Reading Assignment Challenge, Author Luv, Bloggiesta and the Bookish Resolutions Challenge. I try to create a warm welcoming environment on my blog where authors, readers, and bloggers will have a great time. Let’s chat books, games, blogging, recipes, design, or family over a cup of coffee and a glass of wine!

Tags:

Divider

Want more awesome posts like this? Subscribe to my blog via email!

12 responses to “Review ~ The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings #review #COYER

  1. Wow, sounds good. The cover on this one jumped out at me so I was curious. Sounds very fast paced and anytime a book makes you stop and think about what’s happening that’s a good sign. 🙂 Glad it was awesome- I’ll have to check it out.

    Greg recently posted: Review: Ten
    • I didn’t give any spoilers but I totally understand. I do that too for books I want to read. Also this cover needs to be made in Lego….just sayin 😉

  2. I didn’t realize this one is told from two point of views. I love book with multiple point of views.
    Are there many gruesome details in this book? because I usually don’t like those and post-apocalyptic and dystopia books seem to have the highest risk of having gross scenes. I don’t mind reading about someone getting killed or dying, but I just don’t want to read about all the gruesome details if that makes sense?

    For some reason I really don’t like the cover for this one, but your review totally convinced me I have to add this one to my to-read list. Great review! I am looking forward to reading this one 🙂

    Lola recently posted: About Me: Slow Building Romances
    • I think that was what made me not want it originally was the cover but after reading the book, I get the cover. No gruesome scenes it’s more of an implied death then actual detailed deaths. I don’t think I would have liked it this much if it did 🙂

    • I almost skipped it, I saw it on edelweiss and thought no that’s not a book for me….so very glad I took a chance, you never know 🙂
      thanks for stopping by xxx