Berls Reviews Angel Falls #audio #coyer

Posted April 17, 2021 by Berls in Review / 1 Comment

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Berls Reviews Angel Falls #audio #coyerAngel Falls by Colleen Helme
Narrator: Stevi Incremona
Series: Sand and Shadows #1
Published by Colleen Helme on April 2, 2021
Genres: Cozy Mystery, Paranormal, Romance
Length: 9 hours 35 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Author
Goodreads
four-stars

Sent away because she let someone die, her burgeoning powers leave her with more questions than answers. Now her only chance for redemption comes at a price... one she may not survive.
As a trauma nurse in a New York City hospital, Ella St. John had no idea that refusing to help a known killer would have such dire consequences. Being sent to the middle of nowhere is bad enough, but when she crosses paths with a handsome stranger, everything changes. She can't deny the attraction blossoming between them, but that is nothing compared to the trouble he brings to her door. Helping him could be the biggest mistake of her life... if she manages to live long enough to regret it.
From the author of the Shelby Nichols Adventures, comes a new series that will plunge a woman with growing powers into the dark world of mystery, murder, and death.
Perfect for fans of Shannon Mayer, Annette Marie, K.F. Breene, and Jennifer Estep.

My top thoughts:

So I met Ella when I read Ghostly Serenade in the Shelby Nichols series (which I love and highly recommend) and the minute we met her I was like, OMG she needs her own series! And guess what? Colleen had the same great idea! When I got the email that it was out on audio I about squealed and I am not disappointed. I should note that while this is a spin off and will have some nice crossovers for fans of the Shelby Nichols series, you absolutely can read it on it’s own.

What I liked/didn’t like:

In fact, this has very little in common with the Shelby Nichols series — at one point, it felt so different, I wondered if we would actually get any crossovers. Ella does not live near to or function in the same world as Shelby and, unlike Shelby, she’s young and single with no kids. So the tone is different for sure. And her paranormal gift is quite different from Shelby’s too – instead of reading minds, Ella has “healing hands” – she’s able to help people heal through her touch. That’s how she and Shelby met initially actually. Ella was a trauma nurse in NY helping a victim that Shelby was working with the police to find out what happened to them. In the course of that investigation, the man who had assaulted the victim came into the hospital and Ella refused to use her gift to save him.

And that’s where this book picks up – Ella has been punished for not using her gift to help and sent to the middle of nowhere (gorgeous, but challenging for someone use to the bustle of NYC) to run a small clinic. And when she’s out exploring nature she runs into – literally – Creed. He’s full of mystery and in need of her healing hands. He pulls her into his world and the consequences are life changing for both of them.

I enjoyed the characters a great deal – Ella is sweet and way too trusting IMO (I was a little disbelieving that a NYC girl would trust a stranger the way she does… but maybe that’s the protected life growing up in the church showing through?), but she also has an edge to her that I think will potentially be interesting as the series progresses. And Creed is a good counter to her, he’s lived on the edge and touched the dark side of the world. But they are both young and ready to take on the world, which could be exciting in future books – especially given how things wrapped up in this book. I don’t want to spoil anything but Ella’s healing hands and purpose really developed a lot over the course of the book and I’m really interested to see where things will go.

Narrator thoughts:

As for the narration, I really enjoyed it as well. Stevi Incremona did a great job with the characters, and while it was different hearing Shelby from her interpretation, I could easily see/hear the same Shelby I’ve come to love. So I look forward to continuing this series in audio. And I really hope for more Shelby/Ella crossovers (which we’re definitely setup to have as a possibility)!

4 stars Pretty Great

About Berls

Michelle adopted me as part of her blog when I decided to close down my blog, Fantasy is More Fun. The blog was dying, but my love of reading and the blogosphere was still strong as ever - so I found my new home here at Because Reading!

I'm not just a book lover, but a one time author (that hopes to be more in the future), wife, mom to the cutest, happiest, best 1 year old and step-mom to the craziest, sweetest 20 year old on the planet. My family mean everything to me and they appear frequently in the Sunday Post with Berls. So grab a glass of wine and chat books, blogging, and family with me!

Tags:

Divider

Want more awesome posts like this? Subscribe to my blog via email!

One response to “Berls Reviews Angel Falls #audio #coyer

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then CLICK HERE to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.